Planet NI Documents

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Experience with Planet NI

Photo_HG.JPG

I am currently the founder/Chief Operating Officer at IQCAIS, a Chennai-based Startup focussing on NDT (Non-Destructive Testing) solutions and products. I have been associated with NI for nearly 20 years from the time I was a graduate student doing my PhD at Purdue University to now using LabVIEW as the engine for our spectrum of NDT products. It has been quite a journey from trying to get a parallel poll working on a GPIB to control a fatigue testing machine to developing a full-fledged automated ultrasound system which was recently recognized as the GSD award winner in the Planet NI category in 2012.

After stints at Cummins and  GE, I started IQCAIS in 2007 to create product based solutions in the NDT industry to meet the growing need of the manufacturing industry to deliver ever increasing production volumes with the highest quality. The journey has been very rewarding but very challenging as high-tech electronic device design in India was very nascent. Getting solutions to design problems was either time-consuming or too expensive or frequently both.

One aspect that helped us immensely here was the NI SME program, giving us access to software rapidly and at nominal cost, a boon to a startup!  As an example, we got additional licenses of LabVIEW to enable concurrent development and evaluation of multiple concepts, to arrive at the optimal solution in the fastest time. In an economy such as India's, funding sources, be it private ventures or myriad government options, are easier to tap into once there is some proof of concept. Since this in turn requires resources, the benefit of the SME program in UPFRONT cost benefit is immensely useful in sustaining the organization till large resource options can be tapped into.

iqc.jpg