PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will PXIe chassis 1083 work with Thunderbolt 4?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Friends,

I am new to NI and am planning to buy PXIe Chassis 1083 which runs with Thunderbolt 3 support. I shall be running PXIe 6363 DAQ and PXIe 6738 AO cards with it.  

When I was planning to buy a laptop with Thunderbolt 3 for remote control, I found out that it is fast vanishing from earth. Intel has come up with Thunderbolt 4 which has better specifications than Thunderbolt 3 (Thunderbolt™ 3 vs. Thunderbolt 4 Technology – Intel). My feeling is that Intel will push Thunderbolt 4 for all the new laptops and Desktop cards from now on.    

This brings me to an important question. Will I be able to run my NI PXIe Thunderbolt 3 systems with the newly available Thunderbolt 4.0 hardware and software support ?

I would request NI to clarify on this because I do not want to get stranded after buying the products and not been able to run it with my new laptop. Please help me to decide.

Regards,

Sankar

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,850 Views)

Your post requests a reply from NI, but this is not an official medium of communication for NI. This is a public forum for users of NI's products to help each other, occasionally some NI employee might reply but not guaranteed. 

I would stay away from Thunderbolt chassis, the biggest pain is that there is absolutely no way to know if your laptop or computer card and bios supports all features of Thunderbolt for the chassis to perform properly.

If you search for the PXIe-8301 in the forum, you will see how much pain it has been for folks. I have personally faced the issue and ended up switching to a embedded controller.

If you already have a 1083, I would recommend stay with the hardware that is working unless your are fine if your new investment doesn't work well with 1083 or you're okay to spend hours debugging why things doesn't work if you are unfortunate.

Santhosh