PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

System design PXIe-8840 + PXIe-6341 + PXIe-7971R + PXIe5782

Hello,

I have some experience with LV, LV FPGA and cRIO, however I am a little bit confused with the system design for PXIe. The components are: PXIe-8840 controller, Analog/Digital I/O module PXIe-6341, FPGA PXIe-7971R and dual I/O transceiver module for FPGA PXIe-5782

I measure and process the fast AI (sampling 250 MHz) in the FPGA where the control value is computed with the rate up to 1Mhz. I want to send the control value (0-5 Volts) to AO to PXIe-6341 to close the feedback.

I would like to know the best way how to do it.

I am not able to do it directly from the FPGA code. My idea is to read the FPGA output indicator in the HOST code running on PXIe Windows 10 and send it to the AO. But I do not believe it is the right solution...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(1,266 Views)

What's your loop time from input to output?

Certified LabVIEW Architect, Certified Professional Instructor
ALE Consultants

Introduction to LabVIEW FPGA for RF, Radar, and Electronic Warfare Applications
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(1,249 Views)

The process description may be useful:

There are laser pulses acting on the surface and its heat accumulation is measured by a detector. The rate of the laser pulses is fixed and can be set in a range up to 1 Mhz. The moving average heat accumulation is computed in the FPGA. It is required to control the energy of the laser pulses to maintain the mean value of heat accumulation. The all process takes a few miliseconds.

The control loop rate depends on the laser pulse rate. I think that the control loop rate may be a few time less than the rate of the laser pulses

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(1,245 Views)

Seems like there is a non-RT operating system in the loop.  This will prevent deterministic functionality.

ALE Consultants

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(1,241 Views)