PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proper way to read out an ADC by FPGA and PC

Dear community,

I am new to FPGAs and have some basic questions concerning the programming of my PXI system.

What I have:

- NI-5922 ADC

- NI-7966 FPGA

- no real time controller, but a PC with an PXI interface card.

I am wondering what the best way is in order to read out the ADC by the FPGA, doing some processing on it (FPGA) and share the raw data with the connected PC for saving.

Since the FPGA has no analog IN/OUTs, it must somehow access the ADC. What is the preferred way to do that?

Moreover, the ADC has to be initialized and so on. From my point of view, this should be done by the PC to save FPGA hardware resources.

Since this is my first FPGA-project, it would be very helpful to have some initial hints or code snippets on how to start.

Thanks!

Stephan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,722 Views)

Hi,

I think you need Programmable FPGA Digitizers to access the analog-to-digital converter and implement signal processing algorithms in the FPGA.

National Instruments programmable FPGA digitizers feature a variety of analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) with varying sample rates, resolutions, and channel counts. The modules, which include high-performance Xilinx field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), are the only digitizers on the market that you can program using either the NI LabVIEW FPGA Module or traditional HDL languages.

For more information : Programmable FPGA Digitizers

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,684 Views)

Hi