PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXI first use, unable to configure/boot safe mode or RT

Hi all,

I am new to PXI controllers, i am having a few issues with a PXI controller in my university which i intend to use for my fyp project.

So we are using a PXI 1042Q chassis with a PXI 8106 embedded controller.

We started this controller for the first time and updated windows xp, we also removed labview 8.6 that came with it and installed labview 2010 with all the available drivers, softwares and liscenses..

When we start windows XP on the PXI system we can see the PXI chassis and controller identified in MAX but labview cannot find them when creating a project.. My first question concerns the reason why labview cannot identify PXI targets in a project?, could it be a missing liscence (for instance RT liscence for PXI)? or an improperly installed driver? How to check if RT liscence is missing or needed?

Due to the first problem, we tried to control the PXI remotelty from another desktop host PC where we found more problems.

1/ Can we make a connection in order to download a project from the host PC to the PXI via ETHERNET (without MXI cards) ?

2/ We tried to make the connection using ethernet but we couldnt configure the IP; when we switch to safe mode to configure, the pxi gives the following texts on screen " system error kernel 446610 LFS error not a dos disk pc-dskinit " and the system remains unconfigured with the 0.0.0.0 IP due to the failure to boot, MAX on the host PC sees the PXI as a 0.0.0.0 and changing the IP is not possible also.