PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to verify PCI-8336 Connectivity

Solved!
Go to solution

We have acquired an older used PXI-1045 chassis with PXI-6254, PXI-6733, PXI-6511 and PXI-6512 cards, my task is to verify that the PCI-8336 in our desktop can talk to one or more of the cards.  If I could run a simple script on the desktop to ping the status of maybe the PXI-6254 it would be great!  If we can ping other cards as well it would be a bonus!  I have no experience with Labview or any NI software.

There is no NI software installed on this desktop.

Once I have confirmed that there is some connectivity then our IT guy will re-image a windows and install that and the other software on this dedicated desktop.

In a couple weeks we will arrange for someone from another group to install(port) his application to our desktop and PXI-1045, he wrote it in C Sharp to control his PXIe-1095 chassis and set of cards.  We have ordered a set of hardware similar to his PXIe-1095 setup but it will be a long, long time before that arrives and we need to make progress developing soon.

Any suggestions on how I can quickly do connectivity tests on this PXI-1045 would be appreciated!!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(1,576 Views)

Hi pxidan,

The quickest/easiest way is to look in device manager. Since you don't have drivers installed for the cards they will be flagged. If you select view -> by connection they should show up near each other (possibly with 1 or 2 bridges between depending on how they're arranged in the chassis).

The 4 cards will also have NI IDs (double click on one, select the Details tab, select the "Hardware IDs" property). They should have "VEN_1093" in the strings shown.

If you can see the boards then the PCI/PXI-8336 boards are working.

- Robert

Message 2 of 11
(1,569 Views)