PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI RFSG AWG (phase modulate a signal using code from a GPIB Arbitrary Waveform Generator)

I am new to PXI Hardware.  I am trying to generate a modulated signal using NI PXI/e vector signal generators using some intercepted GPIB commands from rack mounted (GPIB) instruments, an RF Signal Generator and Arb function generator.  I know the RF Signal Generators settings including: frequency, amplitude, modulation set to phase, phase deviation, and  modulation source set to external.  For the Arb function generator I know the voltage peak to peak, frequency, and the series of 1's and 0's stored to memory that create the arb waveform.  Connecting the Arb to a scope it looks like it's outputting a series of pulses.

How do I replicate this using NI-RFSG?  I have a 5672 (PXI-5610 & PXIe-5442) or 5673E (PXIe-5450, PXIe-5611, & PXIe-5652) vector signal generator that I can use.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,527 Views)

Hi JMU_ISAT,

I am a little confused about your application and what you are trying to do/what you have already done.  

• Are you trying to send out a modulated signal from your 5672/5673?  
  • What code did you previously run with your Arb and RF sig gen?

It sounds like you are using Modulation Toolkit based on the settings that you mentioned.  You can use Modulation Toolkit with either of the VSG devices that you have.  There are examples for the toolkit that can be found by going to Start » All Programs » National Instruments » Modulation » Examples.  That will be a good place to find VIs that can send out a modulated signal from your VSG device.  Please let me know a little bit more about your system and your overall applications so I can better help you get started with NI-RFSG.

Sarah Yost
Senior Product Marketing Manager
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,504 Views)

Old Setup:

Agilent E4438C VSG

-set freq

-set amplitude

-set modulation=phase

-set modulation source=external