From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ to network to TDMS issue

Hi, I am new to Labview and have a task which requires acquiring data, sending it across a network, and writing it to a file. I am using a PXI-1031 to acquire 8 analog input channels (for the moment connected to a signal generator).

My current solution is structured as such (see attached jpegs):
- Capture data through a VI running on the PXI, using DAQmx blocks, reading every 1ms (see pxiVI.jpg)
- Write the data to a network variable (as an Analog 1D DBL NChan 1Samp)
- Read the network variable by a separate VI running on a host computer on the same network (see hostVI.jpg)
- Write these values to a TDMS file (one column per channel)

I have been successful in getting this to work, after much confusion regarding data types (dbl, arrays of dbl, dbl waveforms, dynamic data, clusters). My question is this: Is there a better or more elegant way to accomplish what I am trying to do? Particularly, I would like to know 1) what DAQmx-Read output format is best for sending data across a network (so as to avoid network collisions), and 2) what data type is best (in this case) as input for TDMS Write?

Bonus question: Is there a trick to launching the PXI VI programmatically from the host VI? I have had no luck using the block chain (Open Application Reference) - (Open VI Reference) - (Call By Reference Node).
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,433 Views)

hfmvdl,

I see where you are going with this code, but the implementation is very convoluted and I believe you will be missing a LOT of samples.