PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CNVString - Sending Strings from a PXI chassis over ethernet to a labWindows application on another computer

Solved!
Go to solution

I have a PXI chassis with a PXI-8101 controller. It is set up with a realtime operating system. I am communicating to it with a PC with a Windows operating system. I am trying to send variable length string messages from my PXI system to my PC.

On the PC I have a LabWindows application which can send and receive data with the PXI system. I am attempting to send error messages from the PXI system to the PC on ethernet. I am able to send numerical data between them but not the string messages. The PXI software runs to the function call CNVCreateArrayDataValue() and steps into it but never returns. It only has this problem when the parameter CNVDataType is CNVString; when I change CNVDataType to CNVBool it does not have this problem. I am new to this PXI realtime so would appreciate the help. Below is the code on my PXI system which sends these text messages.

In the beginning of RTMain I create the Writer

CNVCreateBufferedWriter("\\\\localhost\\system\\" REG_CAL_ERROR_STRING, 0, 0, 0, 64, 5000, 0, &gErrorPublisher);

Then I call a function with a string in the parameter list:

void SendRT_ErrorMessage(char* message)

{                                    

CNVData data=0;

int error;

char error_str[256];

int i;

char out_str[ERROR_STRN_SIZE*4];

strcpy(out_str,message);

size_t arrayDims= ERROR_STRN_SIZE;

arrayDims= strlen(message) +1;

error = CNVCreateArrayDataValue(&data, CNVString, out_str, 1, &arrayDims);

if(error<0)

{

strncpy(error_str, CNVGetErrorDescription(error),256);

}

//    CNVPutDataInBuffer(gErrorPublisher, data, 1000);

CNVSetArrayDataValue(data,CNVString,out_str,1,&arrayDims);

CNVPutDataInBuffer(gErrorPublisher, data, 1000);

CNVDisposeData(data);

}

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,838 Views)

Hi,