cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XNET questions

Solved!
Go to solution

Guys,

Hope you’re all doing well. After spending significant amount of time in the Vector world. I finally got approval for an NI XNET CAN interface (yeeii!) and I’m exploring some of the driver functions. Currently I do all my CAN/LIN analysis in CANoe using CAPL and Vector tools and so far, to be honest it has worked well.

Now, as a LV developer I would like to start doing some of those tasks in LV rather than CAPL (with XNET). So, I have some questions.

1. In CAPL everything is handled with events (Messages, frames, signals, etc). Is it possible to have the same functionality with XNET with User Events? I want to avoid polling.
  2. My XNET interface is USB and will run on Windows (no cRIO or RT PXI controller). Would that be a limitation for the type of applications I can develop?
  3. I use CDD (CANdela) files a lot. I looked for official support of CDD or OBX files in LV but I don’t see anything from NI. How do you handle that in your applications?

Thanks and hope to see you in the next User Group meeting.

Luis CT
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,103 Views)

I've never written any CAPL, so I can't say if everything it can do XNet can do (better?).  But I see no reason why it can't.  The only thing is you are going to have to do the work yourself.  If you want it to say "When you see this message, send out this message".  Well then you're going to have to program that.