From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Past NIWeek Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Things to do in Austin outside NIWeek

Hi, my name is Nina and I am an intern with National Instruments! Since I go to college in Austin, I’ve had the chance to fall in love with this wonderfully unique city. There are so many great things to do in Austin while you aren’t at NI week events, and I’m sure you’ll come to fall in love with Austin like I have during your time here. I’ve created this insider guide to favorite spots in Austin to help you discover the city during your stay:

Magnolia Café 

This quirky café has two locations and is open 24 hours a day! Whether you’re craving migas, pancakes, tacos, or a burger, this place has it.

Mount Bonnell

This spot looks over the hills of Austin and the Colorado River. It’s a great way to see the city from a different angle. I recommend going at sunset for the best views!

Amy’s Ice Cream

In the Texas heat, few things taste better than cold ice cream. Amy’s is an Austin staple, where the flavors change constantly and the employees can do tricks with ice cream. If you’re looking for a fun challenge, there is always a movie quote written inside the store, and if you can correctly guess what movie the quote is from, you get a free extra topping for your ice cream!

Texas State Capitol

If you enjoy history or architecture, this building is a sight to see. Visit the capitol building for the state, located just near downtown. There’s also a lawn all around the building, so a fun thing to do is to take a picnic and eat it on the lawn of the capitol.

South Congress