VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

frequency response

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to Veristand, and am wondering how I could do the following.

I have a system configuration running on a target. I would like to continuously compute and plot the frequency response using one specified channel as input and another as output, every time a window of samples has been collected.

Is it possible to do the computation on the target in a data processing loop, and then send the computed FRF to the host for display in a workspace screen?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(6,518 Views)

Hi,

Doing this is going to require some extra processing and coding on your part.  Where you decide to do this is up to you.  If you are using single point hardware IO, I would suggest either creating a model in LabVIEW or other programming environment that collects data and outputs the frequency response.  You could also do this as a custom device build in LabVIEW for veristand.  I think for your purposes, a model would be easier.  

If you are using VS 2012, you have access to waveform streaming api.  You can utilize this to acquire data faster than you otherwise could in Veristand.  You could either implement the processing of this data in a custom device, or in a host application.

Cheers,

Ryan D

Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(6,495 Views)

Ryan,

Thank you for your input. I have a couple of follow-up questions.

1. If I implemented the processing in a model (or custom device), would it have to execute in one cycle of the model execution loop (or primary control loop)? Can I implement in for example the data processing loop since this is not a time-critical operation?