cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frequency modulation for Veristand

Solved!
Go to solution

Good Morning everyone,

at first sorry for my bad English. I’m new to Veristand and NI Hard and Software in general, so it may be an trivial question.

I have a PXI-8176 controller with my System definition file. I also have PXI-6528 and PXI-6229.

My model generates an analog Signal from 0V up to 3,5V and I like to modulate a frequency with that Signal. At 1V like to have 650 pulses per second, at 2V 1300 pulses and 2275 pulses at 3,5V. This frequency is way to high to be generated from my Model, so it must be done by Hardware. My question is: is it possible to configure my Hardware to generate such a frequency and how can I do this?

With best regards

Roman

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(8,744 Views)

Roman,

unfortunately it is not possible to configure a pulse generation in NI VeriStand.

The workaround to go is to create your own NI VeriStand Custom Device that takes as input parameter the model output value and converts it accordingly to your LUT.

In you specific case I recommend to implement an asychronous custom device.

The DAQmx code to change the frequency on the fly would look like the one that is posted here:

http://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-3613

Let me know if you have any further questions!

Tom

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(8,740 Views)

Hello Tom,

thank you for your fast reply. I have indeed some questions. I tryed create a Custom Device with 1 input for my signal. I also tryed to route the generated pulse on the out port of the counter0. It didnt worked out very well.

This is what i did:

19287iC75060FCAE596051

I configured the initialization VI like this. And this my RT Driver VI:

19289i41A61D2D4367B5F5