cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disable the delete button in the system definition file

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there,

I have started programming in LabVIEW about 3 months ago, so I am pretty new to that.

For now I am programming on a custom device and in this program I am adding sections and channels to this custom device in the system definition file. This works fine, but I can delete this sections and channels with the delete button and this is the problem.

Is it possible to disable the delete button in the system definition file and how does this work?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(5,224 Views)

So there's a few things you could try here.

In the LabVIEW, VeriStand System Explorer Pallete (NI VeriStand -> Custom Device API -> System Explorer functions), there are two VIs, Disable Dynamic Buttons and Enable Dynamic Buttons, which might do what you want though I don't know for sure as I have never used them myself.  However, these may only work for custom buttons not standard built in ones such as the Delete button.

Capture.JPG

Perhaps a better alternative though is the  <DeleteProtection> custom device XML tag described here:

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/372846L-01/veristandmerge/cd_xml_tags/

I don't believe there is a way to set this using the VeriStand LabVIEW VIs, it would have to be manually added to the custom device XML file.  the embedded data logger that ships with VeriStand uses this tag in several places so you could look at its custom device XML to see how it is used.

I saw my father do some work on a car once as a kid and I asked him "How did you know how to do that?" He responded "I didn't, I had to figure it out."
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(5,173 Views)

Hi,

the Enable/Disable Dynamic Button is, how you said, not the solution for my problem, because it is only for customized buttons.