VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to send backend data from a custom device to the UI?

Greetings all!

I must say, I am new to Veristand.  I am building a custom device that performs FFTs on a PXI chassis within a Custom Device.  That CD does quite a lot of processing.  It downsamples all incoming channels to one desired sample rate that we need to run the FFTs on, it applies a window function, does the FFT, then does some pretty complex limit checking, and then has a fairly simple set up outputs to write back to the Veristand engine, mostly just if a limit is exceeded and some very basic info about the top peaks on the FFT.  We also supply the downsampled waveform to the Veristand engine in case any other operation needs that signal as well.

CPU load for the above work is not minor.  We are spec'ing the best controller to make all this happen.  Even at that, we may still have to use a coprocessor to handle the workload.

We will then have a custom UI that will plot the FFT, the multiple limit lines, the detected peaks, the limit status, etc.  We could have the custom UI reprocess all the FFT data from the downsampled waveform, but it doesn't make sense to have two CPUs each doing heavy FFT lifting when one could send all the back end data to the other so that the custom UI just formats and displays data the the CD computed.

So, I'm asking for ideas of how to send all this data out to the custom UI.  It is alot of data per channel and it would be a real mess if trying to pass all of it to the UI via Veristand since I can't just toss it all in a cluster or anything handy like that.  You'd never need to access this data from the UI itself as the UI wouldn't be able to do anything with it.  It would need to just go to the custom UI that we launch.