VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A strange phenomenon about "Set Variable" step of a "Procedure"

Hi, 
I am new to VeriStand. Here, I find something that I can not realize about  "Set Variable" step of a "Procedure". I describe in the followings. 

I use NI VeriStand 2019R3, PXIe-1078, PXIe-8840, and PXIe-8510 (With two CAN ports). 

UI: 
There is one nemeric control (A) and one nemeric indicator (B).  

System Definition: 

1. CAN1 is responsible for outputing a frame signal; 
2. CAN2 is responsibe for receiving the same frame signal; 
3. A simple model (.lvmodel) which just add a constant to the import and send the result to outport ; 

System Mapping: 

1. Control A is connected to model inport; 

2. Model outport is connected to CAN1; 
3. CAN2 is connected to indicator B; 

To make sure that CAN1 output value is in the desired range (0 to 10), I set an alarm on CAN1 to check whether ouput is in range. If it is not in range, the alarm will invoke a "Procedure". And
the job of the procedure is a. set CAN1 channel to zero (Set Variable) b. reset this alarm c. end step. 

I expect that I will see zero value on indicator B if  CAN1 output value is not in the range. But I always see the uncorrected vlue on indicator B. 

From the phenomenon, I want to raise a discussion about the mechanisn of the "Data Processing Loop" (DPL) on VeriStand engine. 

From the help, we know that the DPL has a copy of channel value table and DPL is responsible for alarms and procedues. My first guess is that the procedures of DPL take to handle the above are: 
a.  PCL (Primary Control Loop
) updates the CAN1 value on the copy of channel value table; 
b. Alarm checks the vlaue (out of range), and invokes the "Procedure"; 
c. The "Procedure" sets value to zero; 
d. DPL sends the value to "XNET Loop";