NI VeriStand Add-Ons Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Diagnostics (CAN) Addon Custom Device support?

Greetings all! I recently found the Diagnostics Addon CD on Github, downloaded it and dove in. I'm wondering if the author (eatondan) is active here because I have some questions.

I'm trying to add CAN diagnostic communications over UDS to my HIL systems, pretty much exactly the same thing that's described in this SAE paper (http://papers.sae.org/2011-01-0454/). I'm fairly new to UDS and complex VS Custom Devices, and the Diagnostics Addon CD is both of these. The hierarchy in the project is very different than other CDs I've seen, and I can't really figure out why.

I also can't seem to find the connection between the included temporary Diagnostics database file (to be replaced, one would assume, by the CAN Diag database of interest). Given that I'm having to write a custom XML parser since VS doesn't support .odx file import, I'd like to know exactly what I need to parse and pass to the CD. I have a general idea so far, due to the standard services/data that UDS prescribes, but I need to find more details on the internal Diag DB-to-Diag CD connections to fill in the gaps.

I also can't get the Help CHM file to display in the built CD after I add it to a VS project, but that might have something to do with our IT policies.

So, any help from eatondan (or anyone else on here that's familiar with this CD) will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

edit: OK, so I managed to locate the Initialize Database VI, which answers one question. It's pretty simple and it looks like it's just taking the Diagnostic mode database info you provide and turning it into a plain old CAN cluster. Not much help, unfortunately.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(9,815 Views)

Hi,ElectricWraith: