NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using a process model and configuration NOT in the standard directory

Hi all,

I know I have touched on this before but never really resolved the issue.

I have this love/hate relationship with TestStand. I love using it in development mode....but when it comes to building an installer....I truly hate it.

Here is my problem...

I work in Manufacturing where I need to create installers for my distributions. It keeps everything clean, and nobody has the cash to purchase a full development system for each machine. The problem is that no distribution is the same....models are different and so are globals. When I develop I create a folder where I keep my new process model and my CFG folder. This works fine in development, everything is located because I can specify the path to the model and the CFG folder in Station Options.

When it comes time to build the installer, and when installed, it seems my CFG file and process model are not located. The application will go right to the main sequence (instead of the model first) then tell me that it cant find my globals. The only way around this is to move the model back to the default Teststand directory and same goes for the CFG file.

The question I ask is why, if I specify these directories in Teststand, does it not carry over to the installer? And secondly, how do I get it to identify the correct path. This is very frustrating. What am I doing wrong?

Labview 9

TestStand 4.2

Thanks,

Ryan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,167 Views)

Ryan,