NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple LabVIEW Front End- Launch Editor in Execution context

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm relatively new to programming a test stand user interface, so this might just be me not knowing the right terms to search for. Thanks in advance.

I have a really simple technician interface written in LabVIEW for selecting sequences and running. I'm a little stuck on what to do if the test halts and an engineer wants to debug. I have the ability of an admin to approach the station and login if the station halts on an error. I'm wondering if there is a way to (programmatically within LabVIEW) launch the Test Stand Editor into a execution and see the executions state while halted. I'm really not wanting to reinvent the wheel and program a ton of editor functions into my UI, so I'm hoping I can just use the full capability of the existing TS editor.

Josh
Software is never really finished, it's just an acceptable level of broken
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,420 Views)

You can't really move the execution from one application to another like that.  Basically you can hide a tab or expand the window to show certain controls/indicators that are always there but only shown when someone logs in with certain credentials (this would be the simplest).

Debugging is quite simple to add to a TestStand UI.  Basically you just connect buttons to the manager controls and set them to step into, step out, continue, etc...

The full-featured UI shows how to connect the debug buttons so they can be used.

jigg
CTA, CLA
testeract.com
~Will work for kudos and/or BBQ~
Message 2 of 8
(1,389 Views)