NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proceeding with the test having opened a dialog vi

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm a beginner with TestStand. I'm trying to go through the entire sequence until very end with some dialog windows left opened without waiting for a user to click OK/QUIT on the dialog window in order to go to the next step of the test. I want the test to end without any user interaction needed.

I've tried with dynamically called vi but it pauses the test - waits until user closes the window and what is more it does not pass the parameters to the dialog box (perhaps I did something wrong with dynamic call. 

Is there any way to open dialog vi and proceed with the test with no user interaction?

PS Dialog vi only receives the arguments and displays them on the graph.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,767 Views)

What you are looking for is modification of the UI to display this information.

Use Custom User Interface Messages (UIMsg) for this and adopt your custom UI for handling them.

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,761 Views)

Unfortunately I don't understand what you mean, do you have any manual for that? that's mean i don't need VI anymore?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,759 Views)

You can find information about creating custom UIs for TestStand applications in the TestStand documentation (installed with TestStand).

Also, TestStand 1 and 2 classes from NI cover these topics, for UI specifically the TestStand 2: Customization class.

A third source for documentation is the internet, recommended ni.com pages like the TestStand Advanced Architecture Series.

hope this helps,

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------