NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a way to get the name of the Main Sequence test running to send back to LabVIEW?

Hi,

I am currently trying to get the name of my Main Sequence tests being run and send the name over to my LabVIEW GUI interface for a custom progress bar. However, I am relatively new to TestStand and I am having some difficulty figuring out how exactly to do this as well as determining the time for each step to run in my Main Sequence.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,413 Views)

Hi,

the name of your Main sequence is always Main Smiley Wink

If you need information for any steps in your current sequence you can access them via ThisContext.Runstate.Sequence subproperties.

Have a break on first step of your sequence and check in variables view, what is availabel

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,402 Views)

Hi Oli.

Thank you for your response and from what I understand from what your saying I can get the name of my current testing running via ThisContext.Runstate.Sequence.Main?

So for an example if I have 3 tests running within my Main Sequence and I want the name of the current test running I can use this current expression:

Locals.TestName = NameOf(ThisContext.RunState.Sequence.Main)

Where my "TestName" is a string in my Locals to hold the current test name, which will get overwritten whenever a new test is executed. For an example if I had Test1, Test2, and Test3 in my Main Sequence it would return in my locals string as Test1 when executing, then overwrite Test1 with Test2, when Test 2 is executing?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,398 Views)

If you want to send the name of your Main Sequence tests over to the LabVIEW UI then the prescribed way of doing this would be using User Interface Messages.

There's a good introduction to UI Messages here: Using TestStand User Interface Messages (UI Messages)

Typically, you will need to: