NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use a call executable to run a script through

Hi I am new to teststand. I use testand on windows 10 and i'm actually trying to execute some bash scripts that I have already tested on linux and on windows using the softaware cygwin. I saw that in order to do that i needed to use a call executable fonction in the insertion palette, and then chose in the file path name section cmd to open a windows terminal or mintty for my cygwin terminal. the question I would like to ask is how can i enter the commands to go to my scripts location and execute them automaticaly in a console ? 

thanks for your help 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,890 Views)

Have you seen this? http://www.ni.com/tutorial/8847/en/

It might help.

jigg
CTA, CLA
testeract.com
~Will work for kudos and/or BBQ~
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,868 Views)

Yes thank you i found that tutorial. But now i am having some difficulty to acces the standart output stream of  my script into teststand. I have a bash script that test a value and then print one particular message if I enter the correct value, and another one if i entre the wrong value I managed to run my script into teststand, but it gave me the "test sequence passed" answer every time, althought i want my test to fail when i give my script a wrong parameter. I followed the related part on this link http://www.ni.com/tutorial/8847/en/. In standard output i choosed store in variable property as output destination Step.StdOutput.Text as default. In the additional result panel i added a standart output result from the list and when I run my test, the standard output part in my report is empty, it's just 2 quotes ''. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(2,846 Views)

Store it as a local variable and then in another step do the analysis.  For example you could have a String Value Type check the local variable.