From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deployment w/ Custom Type (CommonResults)

Solved!
Go to solution

OK, first off, I admit I'm not an expert when it comes to Types or even deploying them...hence the question. I'm looking for a recommended way to handle the situation that I have.

Situation: I have test sequences that have a modification made to CommonResults. We put a boolean variable for "IncludeInProductionLog". I expect to see this property on every step in the sequence. I have the sequence originally saved in TS 4.1 / LV 8.6 and now I'm upgrading it to TS 2013 SP1 / LV 2013 SP1. It appears that before the developers (not me) had overwritten the Type Pallets on our development machine such that this type was standard on the machine. Now, when I open it on new machine, I get a Type Conflict (no surprise here). I get the option to use the Type from the Sequence (one I want) or use the Type currently loaded in memory (default installed w/ TS).

So, I select load the Type from the Sequence File. Cool, everything looks good, but my ParallelModel.seq / NI_DatabaseTypes.ini / NI_FlowControl.ini /.../NI_Types.ini all have the (*) sign next to them as though they have been updated and need to be saved. Sure, I get that I modified the types in memory and so those Type Palettes / ProcessModel all think they have been updated. More on this later.