NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deployment utility slow build time

Solved!
Go to solution

I am not very experienced with the deployment utility. I used it to create a deployable image, full deployment, using a workspace file. I did not exclude any files from vi.lib, user.lib, or instr.lib.

The build took about 70 minutes. That seems a bit long. Are there any rules of thumb for what slows things down?

I have some sequence files of the form "model1.seq", "model2.seq", "model3.seq", etc. They only differ by the file name. Could I perhaps only include one of them in the distrubuted files tab and then add them by manually to the distribution?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,094 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author stephenb2

The TestStand Deployment Utility (TSDU) is definitely something that takes getting used to.  Here are a few tips and tricks for shortening your build times:

• Set up your search directories so that they find the majority of your VIs immediately.  The TSDU uses your search directories to find dependencies.  The more narrow you can make them the faster it will go.  For example don't just use a deep hierarichal path that blanket covers everything.  Instead consider a bunch of shallow paths.
  • Build a different installer fot he TS engine and all of the drivers and run time engines.  This should be a one time build.  This way you don't have to copy 2.5G every time you build.  The end user will need to install both installers but you can get them patches and fixes quicker.
  • Compile your VIs. Compiling your VIs will eliminate the need for the TSDU to do this.  Underneath the hood the TSDU i s copying all of your VIs to a temp directory and adding them to a temp project.  Then it runs a source distribution on that project.  Having them compiled already will make this go faster. (at least I've seen it go faster)