From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creat a Timer (How to execute a Step for a specific time)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I'm new with the TS and wanne execute a step for only 5 seconds. When the time is over the step can not be executed anymore. 

I could't find any timer function like programming languages. Could you please help me. I really appreciate it. 

Thank you. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,328 Views)

do you mean some kind of max time limit for execution?

A step will execute as long as the code module execution completes because TestStand passes the execution to the respective language to complete the execution and TestStand will not have control to abort the code module execution mid-way as it is not under its control.

If needed, you need to implement a technique within the code module to stop execution after the timeout period.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(1,316 Views)

Thank you for your reply.

Yes exactly. I just wanne the timer to start when the step is beeing started. after 5 seconds the step must be stoped. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(1,312 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author navid.mo2

TestStand will let you set Station Options for an execution time limit which when expired will terminate the execution or allow a prompt to be displayed for user to decide the action.