NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

C dll can't define parameters

HI, crew!

I am a relative newbie, I have a dll file developed in C and set of definition files.  I can import it into test stand but it only picks up the functions not inputs / outputs.

I was told, that if I iknow the inputs and the outputs to each function - I could define them on my own it would work.  Well, I cannot get any reasonable output at all.  If anyone knows the secret (or is it even possible???) please help me out.

https://acroname.com/system/files/software/hubtool_win32_i386_17.zip - here is the link to the development .zip file, which has the Brainstem2.dll.

I also understand, that it uses the standard C libs which I don't have, so whne I tried importing the dll into labview through the import tool it fails also.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,701 Views)

DLL functions do need to be called in order to fully work.

from the TestStand Reference Manual:

If a DLL contains export information or if a DLL file contains a type library, the LabWindows/CVI and C/C++ DLL Adapters automatically populate the Function control on the Module tab of the step with all the function names exported from the DLL. In addition, when you select a function in the DLL, the adapter queries the export information or the type library for the parameter list information and displays it in the Parameter Table control on the Module tab. If the adapter cannot determine parameter information, you must enter the parameter information manually.

So I am not entirely certain where you heard that you can call a DLL without the function, but maybe they meant that you could manually enter the input/output information if it doesn’t show up automatically.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,672 Views)