NI Powertrain Controls Users

Highlighted

ECS Example Project Feedback

Welcome to the ECS Example Project feedback forum.  Please use this discussion to ask questions, get support, or provide feedback.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,537 Views)
12 REPLIES 12

Re: ECS Example Project Feedback

Dear A.Polk,

I am a student at Sheffield Hallam University (UK). I am currently undergoing a project to develop an ECU to run a single cylinder 4 stroke motorcycle engine used in formula student (engine is from a 2013 KTM 500 EXC), with the aim for basic operation for test cell and dyno testing.

I have found this example very helpful with guidance to writing my own simplified version, as this example is over complicated and not compatible with the hardware we had donated by National Instruments.

The engine that I am using does not have a cam sensor, however it does have a crank sensor. Is there a way to be able to simulate a cam sensor so that I can get this working? as I believe the EPT VI's require a cam signal for four stroke operation and achieving EPTsync.

I am also in the process of trying to calibrate various sensors to use with my system, however there are no specifications or datasheets available from the engine manufacturer, do you have any advice on obtaining this information?

From what I have seen, the engine uses a inductive coil pack rather than a 'smart coil', at the time the hardware was donated, the NI sales rep recommended a ESTTL module to drive the coil, is this correct? as I have seen documentation saying the ESTTL module is for use with 'smart coils' only.

Any help is much appreciated, being in academia there is limited support as I have no budget for this project. If it is sucessful, the formula student car will have NI logos on to recgonise the support recieved.

Kind Regards,

Jack Hedges

Sheffield Hallam University

Certified LabVIEW Associate Developer

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,944 Views)

Jeff,