NI Package Manager (NIPM)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NIPM available on Chocolatey

Hello,

We are currently automating the configuration of our computers/VMs.
We are using Chocolatey to install multiple softwares. (https://chocolatey.org/)

Would it be possible to release the last NIPM on this platform?

That way, we could always download the latest NIPM.

If you don't plan to do it, our current solution is to have a fixed nipm.exe installer in our zip. And to update it from the command line before starting any other installations. Please let us know if that's the solution you would recommend.
Thank you so much for your collaboration on this matter,

Valerie

Message 1 of 13
(3,643 Views)

NI does not have any current plans to release NIPM on the Chocolatey platform. I am not technically up on the platform to have any recommendations for implementing a solution for including NIPM. What you suggest sounds reasonable.

Scott Richardson
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,607 Views)

Hi Scott,

We are spinning our wheels trying to figure out feed URLs.

This is a problem for us because this means we will have to install every new packages NI will release to get the URLs.

Is there a way to simply call "nipm.exe --install labview-core" and get the latest version?

Same with ni-visa, ni-dmm, etc.?

Valerie

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,572 Views)

Valerie, there is currently no simple way to ask NIPM to install the latest version of software. NI creates separate feeds for each version of its software, so NIPM needs to know the feed and then the package name to install will need to specify a version in some form.

There are a few options that you can take:

1) Creating a Chocolaty package around each NIPM online installer EXE is what I'd recommend for the customer, and host those in a local repository. Here is their quick start guide. The syntax for the script seems straightforward:

Scott_Richardson_0-1638998643281.jpeg