NI Package Manager (NIPM)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automate the install of DAQmx 18.5

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey everyone, I'm trying mimic the functionality of clicking "Install" in the GUI of NIPM for any specific product via the command line. For example, after installing NI Package Manager, how would I install NI-DAQmx 18.5 64bit?

I'm new to this and I'm trying to automate software installation.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,397 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Taxman414

This is how I did it:

1) Install NI Package Manager:

start /wait NIPackageManager21.3.0_online.exe --quiet --accept-eulas --prevent-reboot

2) Launch NI Package Manager and browse to the title\version\bitness you want. Click Install and leave the "wizard" open.

Screenshot 2021-10-22 094031.jpg

3) Get the name and URI of the feed that NI Package Manager temporary added for that package

cd "C:\Program Files\National Instruments\NI Package Manager\"
nipkg feed-list

Screenshot 2021-10-22 094815.jpg

4) Search for the package name, version, and bitness

nipkg list | findstr "runtime"

Screenshot 2021-10-22 095408.jpg

5) Build your script. (You can close NIPM)

cd "C:\Program Files\National Instruments\NI Package Manager"

:: Add feed from step 3. Make sure your name doesn't have any spaces.

nipkg feed-add --name=ni-labview-2019-runtime-engine-x86-2019-released        https://download.ni.com/support/nipkg/products/ni-l/ni-labview-2019-runtime-engine-x86/19.0/released
nipkg feed-add --name=ni-labview-2019-runtime-engine-x86-2019-released-critical       https://download.ni.com/support/nipkg/products/ni-l/ni-labview-2019-runtime-engine-x86/19.0/released-critical

:: Get list of packages from feed.

nipkg.exe update

:: Install the package name, bitness and version from step 4. Allow and accept EULAs. Syntax is tricky.

nipkg install ni-labview-2019-runtime-engine-x86:windows_all=19.0.2.49152-0+f0 -y --accept-eulas

Screenshot 2021-10-22 100701.jpg