NI Linux Real-Time Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replace startup.rtexe while it is running on Linux targets?

Solved!
Go to solution

I had posted this question over on the LabVIEW board, but realized this might be the better location.

I have a need to replace the startup.rtexe file with a new startup.rtexe file while the original startup.rtexe executable is running.  It seems like this is possible on Linux targets (I am new to Linux myself) but I need to somehow unlink the application running in memory from the file on disk first.  

Is this possible in LabVIEW RT?

I don't have network connection to the targets as they are deployed in the field and will be transferring the files via CAN and Serial most likely and then attempting to replace the startup.rtexe when the copy is verified.

Ryan Vallieu CLA, CLED
Senior Systems Analyst II
NASA Ames Research Center
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,648 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author RVallieu

Hi Ryan,

The startup app (or "rtexe") on disk is opened and loaded into LabVIEW RT's runtime on startup. The way that Linux works when it comes to files on a filesystem, you can certainly replace a file that's already opened by a program, and that program will continue to "see" the original file as it opened it¹. This means that you can replace the startup application while it is running and it will not impact the running application, it will only impact future launches of the LabVIEW RT runtime (done on reboot).

¹This does not hold true if you modify a file, e.g. change its contents. Some programs, most notably the deprecated FTP server that can be installed to targets, will open-truncate-write files instead of the unlink-create approach. The former may cause issues with startup apps, the latter will not.

Message 2 of 13
(4,637 Views)