Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

oscilloscope flickering

Hi all!

I am new to Multisim and this one thing has been very annoying - how to stop my oscilloscope screen from flickering when it collects data?
I tried changing the trigger and when it's on "Norm" it keeps drawing the same signal again and again (at some 3-4 times/sec). When it's on "Sing" it draws the signal only once but the background keeps flickering over and over.
A regular, "physical" scope has no flickering screen (or at least not a visible one) 🙂  

What can I do?

Thank you all !!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(9,645 Views)

I don't think there is anything that you can do to prevent this. You have to realize that the simulation is not in real time and is naturally slower. This is why the scope flickers. You could try to speed up the simulation by ajusting the TMAX under the Default Instrument Settings in the Simulate Tab. This will help but won't cure it. Try setting it to 1E-03. The only drawback is the introduction of minor errors in the simulations calculation process. This isn't significant but can produce singnals that just don't look like they should (i.e Square waves that are not totally square, Sine waves that are more triangular in shape, etc).

One other option is to use the Transient Analysis function under The Analysis Menu. This by-passes the scope but produces the same results that are viewable through the Grapher. The only thing is that you have to set the time and ouput variables manually with the dialog boxes within the Anaylsis Window. The result is diplayed on the Grapher just like a trace on the scope.

I hope I answered your question and ddn't confuse you. If there is another way. other than what I have suggested, I would like to know too.

Kittmaster's Component Database
http://ni.kittmaster.com

Have a Nice Day
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(9,641 Views)