Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PM DC Motor Model Trouble

I'm currently using Multisim 12 while attempting to utilize the DC_MACHINE_PERMANENT_MAGNET model found in Electro_Mechanical > MACHINES.  I wish to simulate several different conditions relating to both power input (including precharged caps) and motor characteristics and effectively measure torque and speed responses.  I have some experience with circuit simulation in the past but I am a little rusty.

My first question deals with the dc motor model I am using.  It comes with 4 outputs, those being Te (torque), theta (rotor position?), Ea (back emf?), and omega (angular speed?).  How do I go about measuring these?  

Most of my attempts have been centered around a DC sweep analysis with a 48V battery source connected to the motor.  I haven't been able to get the arbitrary load model to function correctly but I do believe I have gotten the incremental sensor to work as it is recording a sensible RPM output.

I have been primarily referencing figure 2 of this link http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/13721

For the purpose of my simulation, I do not require the h-bridge control inputs let alone the digital control via LabVIEW.  I do believe I have exhausted my search for more relevant information, please prove me wrong.

If there is a better program for my purposes please let me know.  Any assistance will be appreciated.

Thanks

Gerry

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,170 Views)

Gerry,

You may find that the help for this component (click Help in its properties dialog) as well as the help for using machines in general (titled "Machine Modeling") might be of use. I'll try to answer some of your questions directly in here however.

The following is a general representation of the internals of all machines models:

MachineModeling.png

Regarding the four pins that you speak of...