Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am sick of running into MultiSim's bugs

I was introduced to MultiSim many years ago via Electronics Workbench.  I had the opportunity to get in on the ground floor, so to speak, as, because I was a student (and through my professor), I was able to purchase the instructor's (not education/student!) edition of the MultiSim/Ultiboard package for a reasonable price. Since then it's been one bug after another.

Now, I'm years out of school, can afford the huge pricetag, have the lastest version via grandfathering, but I don't want it, because I don't trust it any further than I can throw it. (I swear I'd buy the professional if it worked, as expensive as it is.) I've bought the service agreement, now that National Instruments got involved, but I don't believe I'll ever get anything but the latest bug-ridden kluge.

I've had a bug under investigation for two weeks now and, yeah, maybe it'll be resolved, but, honestly, it won't matter.  Why?  Because I'll just turn up another one and go through this mess again.  Why?  Because I've been doing this for years, nearly a decade.  You get what you pay for.  If you want something that works, you have to pay for it, and MultiSim isn't it.  I just feel for those who actually shelled out the money for this latest version that I got for pennies.  But I swear I'd buy the thing if it worked. It just doesn't work.

Sorry, no time for proof read.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,550 Views)
With the above said, I wanted to come back and clarify my intention here.  I want MultiSim to work.  It would be so great if it did.  It just never does.

The power of a simulator is the ability to blow up stuff without cutting into the budget for the parts.  It's about saying, "what if I do this?" in a situation that'd be risky in reality.  But then you don't take out an expensive component or entire circuit in the process!