From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Components not in multisim libraries

Hi!

I'm an italian high school teacher.

I'm newbie to MultiSim.

I'd like to simulate a PWM interface that use, among others, this two componenents that are'nt in the MS embedded libraries:

• STMicroelectronics STP10NK60ZFP
  • Optoisolatore uscita transistor 4N35X

I'd like to know wich is the better and faster way to solve the issue:

1. search and find an equivalent component in the MultiSim library
  2. use a spice model available on the productor's website (if there is one)

I've tried the second way for the mosfet following this tutorial: http://www.ni.com/tutorial/3173/en/

But at step 6 I've received this error message:

error.png

I must specify that I'm a mechanical engineer and I teach System and Automation with limited electronic competencies.

Is there anyone that can help me?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,944 Views)

Hi,

searching for your error message I found two forum threads that could give you useful insight:

In the meantime I'll ask NI Multisim experts for advice about the most convenient way to simulate components not present in Multisim embedded libraries.

Regards,

Alessia

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,905 Views)

Hi. Alessia.

This is a very important issue for me.

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,896 Views)

Hi,

it seems you made a mistake in one of the first steps in the Component Wizard; you defined a symbol to use on the schematics having 3 pins (component symbol pins), but the SPICE code defines 5 inputs/outputs (model pins). That does not match up. I'd guess you picked a symbol with only three pins in step 3 of the wizard.