From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Christmas Lights Circuit using 4060BT

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm a beginner here and had just learn to construct circuits on the multisim. I've been attempting to construct the christmas lights circuit as given in the pdf attached. But as I run my multisim circuit, the 4060BT doesn't seem to actually oscillate like how it is supposed to function. May I know what is the cause of the error? I've been really thinking hard on this. A little help please?

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(8,285 Views)

I do not have Multisim, so I cannot run your simulation. Your description is not very helpful: "doesn't seem to actually oscillate like how it is supposed to function."  Does it oscillate but at the wrong frequency? Does it oscillate but not drive the LEDs as you expect?

Note that the circuit in the pdf uses a logic IC in a mostly analog fashion. Some logic simulations only model the logical behavior and are not realistic enough to accurately model the analog behavior.  Factors which can limit simulation accuracy in circuits like this: Current limiting at output pins and input protection diodes at oscillator inputs.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(8,272 Views)

@johnsold wrote:

I do not have Multisim, so I cannot run your simulation. Your description is not very helpful: "doesn't seem to actually oscillate like how it is supposed to function."  Does it oscillate but at the wrong frequency? Does it oscillate but not drive the LEDs as you expect?