cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

8051 C in multisim

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Folks

Could some one point me in the direction of any documentation on writing C for the 8051 in Multisim?

That is specifically C, not asm

And specifically for the multisim 8051 compiler.

I am new to multisim, though I have a lot of experienca with the 8051 and C I cannot figure out how to reference the MCU pins and registers.

trying to include reg51.h results in an error, and of course without it code such as "P1 = 0xA4" gives an error as the compiler does not understand "P1"

I have tried searching google this site and Hitech's site for these simple items with no luck, everything either uses asm  or is an unsolved/unanswered thread...

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(12,016 Views)

Hi,

Here is the user guide. if you still can get it to work, please post your code and project file and i'll try to help you.

Mahmoud W

National Instruments

Message 2 of 7
(12,010 Views)

Hi Mahmoud

Many thanks for your hlep. However, I have already seen this document (I read it again just to be certain) but it contains NO information on using C, reg51.h (or any other c51 header) or the Hi-tech C-51 compiler, but only on using asembly and the assembler.

If you note in my original post I mention that I specifically wish to find information on using C, NOT ASEMBLY.

Agian many thanks for your help, if there is no documents available for using C, then I'll have to use asm, but I am trying to teach my students embedded C programming, not asm, so I'll end up doing most of the work myself and the students will lose the experience...

Currently main.c code consists of:

#include "keypad.h"
#include<REG51.h>

void main(void)
{
	initKeypad();
	EA = 1;

while (1) {}

}

keypad.c is added to the project and keypad.h is correctly included in the build (according to the build output).

keypad.h also attempts to include reg51.h also, with the same error.