From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

timestamping asynchronous digital inputs

I'm interested in timestamping digital input events (TTL signals) relative to a start trigger for acquisition.  I require ~10 micrsecond accuracy in the timestampsing, so I'm expecting I'll need to use onboard counters and record the counter state when a digital input arrives (rising edge detection).  I'm new to using NI counters so in looking through the MF DAQ manuals I've noticed a number of features for period detection, counting the number of events, ... However, what facilities are available for recording a counter's 'count'? Therefore to record to file the counter's state when a digital signal arrives.

thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,816 Views)
Hello IUBwork.

Thank you for contacting National Instruments.

There are a couple ways to record timestamps for incoming digital signals.  The first way is to use LabVIEW VI's that are in the Timing functions palette.  However, the resolution that these VI's offer isn't on the microsecond level that you desire.  The second way is to use a counter to count the number of events.  This will effectively give you a relative time.  A VI that is helpful is the 'Count Digital Events' VI that can be located at:

NI-DAQmx: Count Digital Events

I hooked up a square wave to the counter 0 source input and was able to count how many periods in the square wave had occured.  This will give you a highly accurate count and I have tested the VI to verify this fact. 

Let me know if you have any other questions or if my statements require additional clarification.  Good luck on your application and have a great day!

Brian F
Applications Engineer
National Instruments