Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rsti cable construction

Solved!
Go to solution

Can I make an RSTI cable for linking two boards using two 34 pin ribbon connectors and some ribbon cable? Or is there something special about the cables I would buy from NI? i.e. are they one-for-one pins? or are there a few unconnected/open?

Christopher

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,539 Views)

Unofficial answer: in a pinch, I have done this with success using straight one-for-one connections.  I'm not a cabling expert though, so there may be some compromises with digital signal integrity, especially for very high freq signals.  The signals I routed over RTSI were likely in the range of 10's of kHz or lower, and I had no problems at all.

-Kevin P.

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Summary of my reasons in this post, part of a voluminous thread of mostly complaints starting here).
Message 2 of 7
(3,526 Views)

Hi Christopher,

The RTSI connectors use a standard 34-pin ribbon cable with straight-through connections so you should be able to make your own cable if you want to. 

One thing to add is that we can't guarantee the integrity of any signals coming over a custom cable (like Kevin said, higher frequencies might start to give problems).

Best Regards,

Message Edited by John P on 01-26-2010 11:49 AM
John Passiak
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,523 Views)

I found an old 34 pin floppy disk drive cable, cut one end off and pressed one of the other connectors to the short ( 2") piece. I verified continuity on all 34 pins, I verified no shorts from adjacent pins.

I connected the 2 PCI 6251 boards using this cable. I ran MAX and clicked one of the boards and chose "Properties"