Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pci-5105 basic questions

I have a pci-5105 and have a few questions. I searched the boards and didn't find exactly what I was looking. I apologize if these are very basic...I am new to this.

1) Is the soft scope front panel the only way to communicate with the 5105? The programming examples written in C do not say they support the 5105. 

2) If I can use the 5105 progammically, is it possible to compile and run the examples from Linux or does it have to be in the supported Windows OS?

3) As I understand, DAQ-mx is not compatable with the 5105. I have the latest version of MATLAB with the DAQ toolbox which supports some NI products. Can I use it for the 5105? Does MATLAB have any compatability with it?

Thanks much.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,271 Views)

Hi jwm1!

1) The NI SCOPE driver installs support for both LV and LW/CVI, you can programmatically acces it on your code by slecting it as the resource to use and then complete the program with the rest of the functions. The example programs should work, you just need to consider the limitations of the board compared to the other scopes. 

2) NI SCOPE2.9 and up, offer support for Linux, there is a special driver you can get on the drivers and updates section on ni.com. Sadly the 5105 is not among the official supported devices.

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/35D2B5E483A001A18625716B005BE464?OpenDocument

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/5312

3) No, you cant use the toolbox for the scope. You have two options for interaction with Matlab: the first one would be to create a dll in LV and call it directly from matlab. The second one would be to create a program in LV that includes the mathscript node. The following forum has an example of this:

http://forums.ni.com/ni/board/message?board.id=270&message.id=4554&requireLogin=False

I hope this info helps.

Have a great day!!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,246 Views)