cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ni daq 6009 - time delay between measurements

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all, 

My first post 🙂 I have a small question regarding the data acquisition with the NI-DAQ 6009, where I am trying to get one or few number of samples per minute. Let's say I want to wait for certain amount of time before I take a measurement. I do not know how to to do this. I tried to figure it out by myself but considering I am totally new to LabView and just got the NI-6009, i was wondering if someone can help me out here. 

I am attaching the .vi if that helps. 

please let me know if you need any more info. 

Thanks in advance. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,625 Views)

The time between samples is set by the rate input. This is expressed in samples per second so you need to calculate the inverse to know how much delay there is between samples. This only applies when you are using the NSamp mode of the DAQmx Read. When you use 1Samp mode, you are using on-demand acquisition and the interval is software timed (i.e. with a delay function inside a while loop).

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,624 Views)

Ah thank you so much for replying to my post so fast. 

So in order for me to get delayed but periodic samples I can change the sample rate. Regarding the 1 sample on demand, its always taken per second. How can I change that for different time periods?

Another question is that, is there a way to keep the time information for a situation where I am taking let's say 10 samples and then recording the average. Therefore, this way, even if i take many samples per minute I can get the average and then record the time for plotting the averaged value against time for later. 

I am sorry if these questions annoy you because they are primitive. 

thanks. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,621 Views)