From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

generating analog voltage output in increments with simultaneous analog input voltage acquisition

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear all,

I am using a new NI PCIe-6363, X Series DAQ-card which is connected to a BNC-2120 connector block with analog outputs and inputs. The operation system is Windows 7 (32-bit) with Labview 2010 (32-bit) - Full Development System.

However, I am new to DAQmx and was wondering if somebody could help me with the following:

Situation:

I need to control an external instrument using an analog output voltage from the DAQ-card. Using the attached VI (Output_Input_IncrementLoop_1b.vi), I want to generate a constant analog output voltage starting at -2.6 V which is then increased by a certain voltage step (e.g., 0.05V) during each iteration of the while-loop until the maximum value of +2.6 V is reached. This analog voltage output, which is increased in increments, is generated in the case-structure (case 0) located in the while-loop.

Furthermore, during EACH iteration of the while-loop (i.e., after the constant output voltage value has been set in case 0) I need to acquire n-number (e.g., 256) successive analog voltage values from an external instrument. This should happen via the analog input voltage channel on the DAQ-card and is shown in the case structure (case 1) located in the while-loop.

In a future step the voltage values acquired during EACH iteration of the loop will be averaged. The averaged value will then be displayed. Finally, by displaying the averaged voltage value from each of the loop-iterations, a signal (e.g., spectrum) will be recorded.

Problems: