From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

automotive power window regulator test system using CompactDAQ

I am currently trying to do some test automation (control + data acquisition) for an automotive power window regulator test stand using NI compact DAQ platform.  Basically there’s a car door module(or up to 4 doors at a time) and my compact daq is supposed to control the motor to go up and down continuously (theres a time delay between up and down motion) for about 30,000 cycles all the while logging current and voltage data as well. I am a labview Noob but willing to learn.

Modules being used

•    N.I 9178 chassis

•    NI 9205 Analog out

•    NI 9476 Digital Out

•    NI 9425 Digital In

•    NI 9421 Timer module

•  NI industrial controller 3110 Fan-less & Rugged Industrial Controller, dual core with 80GB internal HDD

Sensors + Actuators

• Hall effect current sensor
  • Voltage Transducers
  • Photo Sensors
  • Reversing contactors

I believe it can be done using the modules mentioned as I have an application note on NI for the exact same situation (Using LabVIEW and DAQ to Create a Car Window Regulator Testing System http://sine.ni.com/cs/app/doc/p/id/cs-13517). However the application note just provides a summary with no details.

I have already ordered the parts mentioned above and while waiting (can’t change to cRio), I am doing some back ground study etc. to understand things better and I have gone through a lot of discussion forums before deciding to post this… any comments are welcome… I hope to post more specific questions when my hardware comes in and I start developing the code.

A] The Basic test sequence for one door