From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When do you make new neighborhoods?

I am new to MAX.

Max has a choice to make a New Neighborhood. Inside the Neighborhood, you
select board pins that carry the characteristics your program needs. In Labview,
you tell the DAQmx "Make Channels" that these pins are ready to use because
the Neighborhood knows what they are. In the Neighborhood, the user can run a
test on the pins to verify they are correct for a chosen purpose.

Can I use one Neighborhood for many DAQ functions, or do I make separate Neighborhoods for each DAQmx Create Channels function call?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,715 Views)

Hi LVKid,

In Measurement and Automation Explorer (MAX), the Data Neighborhood section provides access to descriptively named shortcuts to configured physical channels (what you called pins) on your DAQ card. Basically you can create DAQmx virtual tasks or channels that contain configuration information, custom scales, and channel lists. These tasks and channels can then be referenced programmatically in LabVIEW, shared between computers, and used multiple times. This link is to a tutorial on how to create a task in MAX. In LabVIEW, you can then place down a task constant and reference the name of the task you just created, as can be seen in the screenshot below.