Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Voltage going to 0 on DAQs

Hello. I work in a lab at a university. We are having an issue with our two DAQs. We use a cDAQ 9172 chassis to hold our data acquisition devices. We have a 9265 and a 9205 DAQ. We power the 9265 DAQ with a 24V 1.3A power supply to get the analog current output that it provides. This current is used on four silicon diode temperature sensors. The same power supply powers two Omegadyne pressure sensors. The 9205 DAQ uses 6 of its channels to collect analog voltage inputs from sensors.  When we run our VI we get good results from the DAQs. After about 10 seconds all of the voltages on the channels go to zero on the 9205 DAQ. It stays like this for about another 10-15 seconds before going back to giving good readings.  Does anyone know what could be causing this? Are we overloading the DAQ? Is our power supply cutting out? I can't find anything about this online.

Thank you,

Chris Neal

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,143 Views)

Hello Chris,

I am sorry you have encountered this behavior.

From your description, you are taking readings from the 9265-powered sensors with the 9205.  On first glance, I can't think of anything in that setup that would cause signal loss.  1.3 Amps should be more than enough current for the sensors.  Would you mind providing the make and model of the PSU, as well as the make and model of the sensors?

Have you observed any unusual current draws when the signals on the 9205 go to zero?  Any unexpected voltage spikes?  The 9205 is rated for +-30VDC.  It has an input impedance of 10G ohms (in parallel with a 100pF cap), so you may want to examine what kinds of signals are being output by the sensors.