Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using traditional DAQ device (PCI-6713) with Labview 7.0

I am a novice at programming LabView, and I am having trouble getting the software to communicate with hardware.  I have a PCI-6713 which LabView 7.0 says is a "traditional DAQ" device only.  Thus I can't use the instrumentation assistant to set up the programming.  I think that I need the files AO Config.vi, AO Clear.vi, AO Input.vi, AO Output.vi, etc, but those files do not exist in my installation, and I can't find them anywhere on the web.  Any assistance would be much appreciated.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,874 Views)
Hello utplasma,
The PCI-6713 is supported by NI-DAQmx, it is no longer a "Traditional NI-DAQ Device only".  You can get the most recent version of NI-DAQ here.  After installing NI-DAQ, you will be able to use the DAQ Assistant with the PCI-6713.
-Alan A.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,853 Views)
Thanks Alan.  I performed the upgrade, and now the PCI-6713 is listed under "NI-DAQmx" devices, which is good.  However, when I'm in LabView trying to run the instrumentation assistant, nothing happens.  The help file says something should come up, like a wizard, to guide me through the process of connecting to the hardware, but nothing happens.  Nothing happens if I double click on it.  Am I missing something else?  Thank you again for your help.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,831 Views)

Hello utplasma,

When you say "instrumentation assistant," you mean the DAQ Assistant, right?  When you place a DAQ Assistant on the block diagram, a window should open which will guide you through the process of creating a DAQmx Task.  Please see the screen shot below which shows the DAQ Assistant and where to find it in your function palette.

If you have placed the DAQ Assistant correctly and no window pops up (even when double-clicking), then I would try to reinstall your DAQ driver.  Let me know how this works out.

Regards,
Sean C.