From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding DAQmxRegisterSignalEvent and Hardware Events generally

I am just beginning to explore using a Change Detection scheme, and am quite confused by the DAQmx documenation. We are using the C API.

The DAQmx Help has a section titled Events under the Timing & Triggering heading. Here the term 'Events' refers to items such as 'Counter Output', 'Change Detection', etc, and the text implies that the event will be signalled in hardware, not software. The following section is titled 'Exported Signal Behaviors', and suggests that the event can be signaled as a pulse, toggle, or level, and refers to an 'Output Behavior' attribute controlling this.

However, in the DAQmx C help, the only reference to the 'Counter Output'/'Change Detection', etc. events is in the DAQmxRegisterSignalEvent() function, whose arguments allow one to bind a callback function to the event. In other words, the event would be signalled in software, not hardware.

Meanwhile, there is no property termed 'Output Behavior' that I can find in a search of the DAQmx C help.

So, it seems that the DAQmx help and the DAQmx C help are saying opposite things...the former refers to these events as being in hardware, the latter in software. (Both documents agree that Done and EveryNSamples events are software events).

Which is it?! Or am I missing something?

I'm using DAQmx 8.8 at the moment. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,379 Views)

Both are right.

The change detection event mentioned in the first case would be something setup in hardware as either the sample clock or a trigger for another task.

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/EF1D8E3FF2639EB4862575910067D02C?OpenDocument