cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB-6009 Simultaneous Software Timed Analog Output/Input

Solved!
Go to solution

Ladies and gents,

I have been working on a LabVIEW interface for a potentiostat I designed and built. I am not very experienced with LabVIEW, but do have programming experience with a variety of other languages (I had originally intended to use a FPGA for this, but was requested to write a LabVIEW VI first).

The goal:

I wish to output a voltage signal (initially composed of ramps) and measure the voltage of an operational amplifier configured as a feedback ammeter (using the feedback resistor value and voltage to calculate current) connected to an electrochemical cell. The feedback resistor is selected using an autoranging function (although I wrote a previous version with manual control) that ouputs TTL values through DAQ Assistants to select the relevant MUX channel. I then try to save the data in a spreadsheet.

The problem:

I am using a USB-6009 DAQ and I am aware this does not have a hardware clock. From reading around it seemed apparent the best way to output the voltage waveform was using the DAQmx package to define a write function within a software-timed loop. The problem I am having is that I cannot reliably synchronise the output with the input and I also have some errors relating to the DAQ resources being reserved (Error 50103). I think the way to resolve this would be to convert all the DAQ Assistants to DAQmx equivalents and try to bundle their execution- this is where I stumble. I tried to write a simple VI that shared a software-timed loop to read and write but had issues related to the AI min value (Error 200077).

General issues:

The way I start the write/read process (using a boolean switch) is very weak and does not feel robust. Ideally I would like some form of indicator to notify the user when the write/read process is running and when it has terminated.