From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble with setting constant DC voltage for AO on 6052E with DAQmx

Hi, I'm new to using DAQmx so this probably has an obvious solution I am overlooking--

I am writing a program using Measurment Studio and DAQmx in C# to control an electrophysiology setup, and one of the tasks I need to do is to send a constant DC voltage on an analog out line. I know I could do this by generating a constant waveform and running the task forever, but it seems that there should be an alternative method. I have a 6052E DAQ board, so I looked at the E series documentation and it says that this sort of task is typically done using on demand timing by sending a single sample to the board. This is the code I am using to try to do this:

/// <summary>
        /// <c>SetHoldingPotential(double vhold)</c> sets the cell holding potential to <c>vhold</c> mV.
        /// </summary>
        /// <param name="vhold">The new holding potential, in mV.</param>
        public void SetHoldingPotential(double vhold)
        {
            try
            {
                _CurrentTask = new Task("Set Holding Potential");
                _CurrentTask.AOChannels.CreateVoltageChannel(VHoldAO,"VHold",VHoldMin, VHoldMax, AOVoltageUnits.Volts);
                // No timing set up, just sending one sample with software timing
                _CurrentTask.Control(TaskAction.Verify);

AnalogSingleChannelWriter writer = new AnalogSingleChannelWriter(_CurrentTask.Stream);
                double output = vhold*this.VoltageOutScalingFactor;
                writer.WriteSingleSample(true,output);
                _CurrentTask.Dispose();
            }
            catch(DaqException e)
            {