From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timed loop to better than OS millisecond level software

Background:

I'm a physicist so the question I'm asking goes beyond simpling solving the technical issue in front of my face, I'd like to know a little more of the bigger picture too.

The job I've been given is to generate a LabVIEW + hardware combination which can simultaneously do 3 operations:

a) run a loop at 100 Hz sampling 6 channels of analog voltage

b) run an independent 60 Hz loop which governs

i) sampling 2 channels of analog voltage

ii) stepping of 3 digital outputs through the bit values which roll from 000 to 111 via simple increments 001, 010 ...

My experience:

I've been writing LabVIEW code actively from 1998 to 2010 (LabVIEW 4 to about 😎

from 2010-2012 I've been mostly maintaining other authors code or inheriting their complete systems

so not done much programming till recently

In 2013 had to write some realtime LabVIEW code on a compact RIO system and that all worked ok

What I've tried to solve the above problems

1) First I inherited a measurement computing 1608fs box which has digital outputs and analog inputs

I used the MCC ULx libraries and had expected to delegate a task for the 100 Hz, a task for the 60 Hz and a task

for the 60 Hz output and just let the 1608fs get on with running the three tasks - this did not seem to be supported

for timing coming from the box itself

In the end I resorted to a LabVIEW software timed loop using the OS based 1 kHz clock and used wait until

multiples of 10 ms for the 100 Hz and 16 ms for the (roughly 60 Hz)