Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Syncing inputs and outputs with different sample rates

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm fairly new to LabView. I have an NI-myDAQ, and I'm trying to accomplish the following:

Output 10kHz square wave, 50% duty cycle.

Input 200kHz sample rate, synced with the output such that I receive 20 analog input samples per square wave, and I know which samples line up with the high and low output of my square wave.

So far, I have used a counter to create the 10kHz square wave, outputing on a digital output line. I have tried to learn from the following document (http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4322/en), but I'm unsure how to sample at a different rate than my clock pulse. It seems this example is instead intended to sample a single analog input per clock pulse. Perhaps there is some way to create a faster clock (200kHz) in software, and use that to synchronize the analog input gathering as well as a slower 10kHz square wave output generation?

I will eventually need to use both analog input channels for getting data, and one analog output channel for writing out data, so I need the square wave pulse to output on a digital pin.

How would someone accomplish this in LabView?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,030 Views)

Since there is just a single Timing Chip (NIs great STC-3) the Analog Input and the digital outputs should be synchronized anyway.

asdf.png

Christian

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(4,016 Views)

Hi Erick, take a look at the specifications for the myDAQ. You don't need to worry about the 200 kHz sample rate, that's is actually the maximum rate that can be accomplish. to sample at different rates simply use one timing VI per task. I hope this helps

Alejandro C. | National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(4,003 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author eric.pruett

Hey Eric,